Concealed Carry Permit, Personal Protection and Defensive Driving Classes Coming Up At GCCC

Courses begin on various dates throughout fall GCCC Logo

Advanced registration is required for all classes.

Concealed Carry Course

The one-day Kansas Concealed Carry course offered from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on:

  • Saturday, August 16
  • Saturday, September 27
  • Saturday, October 18
  • Saturday, December 6

The classes will take place in the John Collins Vocational Building at GCCC.

The concealed carry course is conducted in partnership with the Sand and Sage Rifle and Pistol Club. Sanctioned by the Office of the Kansas Attorney General, it uses instructors certified by the National Rifle Association.

Successful completion meets training requirements to qualify for the permit. Permit application is open at the website of the Kansas attorney general, or any Kansas sheriff’s office.

Instruction includes a review of firearm basics and safe handling of firearms, and also covers criminal and civil legal issues, citizen responsibility and interaction with law enforcement. The cost is $125 per person.

Women On Target

The NRA’s Women on Target basic firearms class will be offered from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. on:

  • Saturday, August 9
  • Saturday, October 4

The class covers the use of handguns, rifles and shotguns, including live fire instruction and practice on the Sand and Sage range, weather permitting.

Upon completion, a participant should be able to select, clean and store a firearm, understand ammunition, and know how to safely load, unload and fire a gun. Certificates will be awarded to participants who successfully complete the course, which costs $70.

Refuse to Be a Victim

This personal protection class is available for local and area residents who want to ensure their personal safety and improve crime prevention. The course will be offered from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. on:

  • Saturday, September 6
  • Saturday, November 1

The one-day “Refuse To Be A Victim” course is in the John Collins Vocational Building. Instruction includes information about psychology of the criminal mind, home and phone security, automobile and travel security, personal and technological security, self-defense devices and basic self-defense techniques. The cost is $40 per person.

Defensive Driving

This seminar could save a life, reduce liability insurance five to 10 percent and reduce collision insurance. This course is offered from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on:

  • Saturday, September 27, 2014
  • Saturday, October 18, 2014

In the John Collins Vocational Technical Building. This course is widely used by courts, municipalities, schools, business and industry, government and the general public for driver improvement. The cost is $75 per person and includes textbook and testing-certification.

Pre-registration is available by contacting or 620-276-9629, and information is available at